2018 California Senior Trip| Part 2

I’m back for “part 2”!πŸ˜‰

#nofilter

One of the most significant parts of this trip was that we flew to California versus driving. This was a first for both Brayden and Kate. As for the other three of us, it might as well have been our first, because we were too little to remember much ofΒ our last flight. So, flying was a big deal to us. I am so glad we did, though! We saved so much time by taking a 3 hour flight instead of driving almost 24. Flying is a really cool experience, as well! The views were breathtaking, we didn’t have to be constantly stopping at gas stations, we weren’t crammed into the back of a minivan, and so much more! I think we got a bit spoiled by it though.😜

Though this is a bit random, I will say Starbucks is outrageously priced in the airport and Disneyland. A grande Frappuccino is just over $6- insaneness. I sound incredibly white right now.πŸ˜† And, the Manhattan beach restaurants and stores were not allowed to have plastic straws or bags- everything was paper. Anyone who has used a paper straw knows it makes your drink taste like paper.😝 So, you better bet we stocked up at the hotel breakfast for later drinks.πŸ˜‚

Me and Kate happened to match 3 days in a row. She got so excited every time!😜❀️

We spent our first few days very chill and relaxed. We didn’t really have much of a plan to go by, and it was great! I really enjoyed strolling down the sidewalks of Manhattan beach and peeking into all the local shops. We went to Simon outlets at Orange, as well. I loved that! It was so fun looking, and there were some really great outlets.

We switched hotels when we switched areas, and our second hotel was literally right across from the Disneyland entrance. That was SO nice! Disneyland was the main reason we went to Cali, so we stayed the majority of our vacation there. We have now been to both Disneyland and Disney World, so I am going to do a comparison post on that later. I thought I would come away with a favorite, but I didn’t. They are different, but, I believe, equally awesome!

I also find it humorous that I came back home with a tan line. The back of my neck is darker than it has ever been before! (That isn’t really saying much, though.πŸ˜‚) Kansas has already quit fall and gone full winter on us, so it looks a little funny here. I also missed the Kansas humidity while we were gone. Now, I know that sounds crazy, but the lack of humidity dried our skin out so bad. I had to carry lotion around everywhere and reapply every 30 minutes to an hour- It was awful!

Despite the dryness, California would definitely be somewhere I would enjoy living.- especially the Manhattan beach area! I loved the atmosphere, and it was gorgeous everywhere you went! Manhattan beach made me appreciate the ocean more than before, although I will probably never enjoy Florida’s waters. (In more ways than one- their drinking water tastes like bleached toilet water.😝) I look forward to visiting again! Hopefully it won’t be too long.πŸ˜‰

5 thoughts on “2018 California Senior Trip| Part 2

  1. We are going to Florida to the beach for Christmas. I think I’d rather go to Florida, call me crazy.😜😬 Normally I’ll go anywhere west, but I really like Florida. However having never been to Cali, I’ll try not to be too biased.πŸ˜πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment